Gary Janosz
1 min readDec 4, 2023

--

Private sellers are definitely the best if you can find what you want. My wife's previous vehicle was a great deal from a private party. I heard through a friend that a local couple inherited a Buick La Sabre. I knew nothing about Buick's other than they were an older person's car. The thing is older people generally take good care of their cars and don't drive all that much. This was a 1997 La Sabre in 2007. The car was clean but I was shocked when I saw the odometer read 19,765 miles. The were asking $2,000. I could not get the cast fast enough. My wife drove that car for 120,000 more miles until rear ended totaling the car. That Buick V-6 was bullet proof. She loved that car and want another, hence the La Cross.

--

Being able to shop nationwide car dealers is kind of empowering. My son did the same a few year later and purchased a late model vehicle that was located on the East coast. Even with the $1,000 shipping he saved about $4,000 over my daughter and son-in-law who bought the same year and model locally.

--

I've always hated the high pressure of car dealerships. Keeping them at arm's length is a real plus. Plus it's a bonus for them to sell beyond the scope of their dealership.

--

Here's another outside the box idea that can save thousands.

--

https://medium.com/personal-finance/3-ways-to-destroy-your-mortgage-b92736310775

--

--

Gary Janosz

Finding the humor in a world of frustration. Always learning, usually the hard way.